Reading Challenge Review #1: Wuthering NOPEs

So…. not really much of a review because I QUIT. Holy cheeseballs, did this book fail the ‘first 50 pages test’ or what?! Now, I know, it’s a long(ish) book, so it may need a bit more than those first 50 pages to really get going…. but it would be nice if the first 50 pages at least didn’t make me want to put the book down, never pick it up again, and go to sleep for eternity. Sorry Emily, I just wasn’t feeling it. The plus side of this abismal attempt at sticking to a reading goal is that I may have found my answer to the question I posed a few months back – how to know when it’s time to break up with a book. Henceforth, this shall be my personal philosophy for that conundrum: if the ONLY reason you feel you should continue is ‘just in case you have to teach this book some day’, stop reading. Is it possible I’ll have to teach Wuthering Heights at some point in my academic career (if I am lucky enough to HAVE an academic career)? Sure, it’s possible. But is that a good enough reason for me to suffer through a book that I’m really not enjoying in the here and now, when I could be using my very limited leisure reading time discovering another book that I may very much enjoy? ALL THE NOPES! If not finishing Wuthering Heights now comes back to bite me some day, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. For now, I’m hiding it back in my to-read pile and moving on to Reading Challenge Book #2: Ira Levin’s Rosemary’s Baby. Here’s hoping this one passes the test.

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Review #1: Wuthering NOPEs

    • mm…. I fear it may remain on my shelf for many years. Unless I take the quitting to the next level of giving my copy of the book to lifeline. I’m still loving my current reading project, Rosemary’s Baby, but am moving through it a lot more slowly than I would like because life has been so busy the past few weeks. I tell myself I need to read more and watch tv less, but I never listen to myself 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

